Board of Trustees

     Each church or charge within The United Methodist Church is held in Trust to The United Methodist Church and run by a local, duly elected Board of Trustees. The Board is run by rule of The Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church. Trustees are asked to fill a 3-year term with 1/3 being elected as new each year. Each church or charge is then, also, incorporated within their State.   more >
     As defined by THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH, “In each pastoral charge consisting of one local church, there shall be a board of trustees, consisting of not fewer than three nor more than nine persons, and it is recommended that at least one-third be laywomen and that at least one-third be laymen. The trustees shall be of legal age as determined by law, and at least two-thirds shall be professing members of The United Methodist Church. No pastor is a voting member of the board of trustees unless elected as a member”.   More >
     Epworth runs on a Calendar year from July 1 through June 30. Each year in June, prior to the June Trustee’s meeting a slate of new candidates is placed before the church body for election. At the June meeting, the current Trustees elect the Officers for the following year. This is done prior to the end of June as the new Officers need to be ready to fill their roles on day-1 of the Corporate Year, July 1, according to Delaware law.
    Epworth has three additional, non-voting members of the Board of Trustees, Rev. Vicky Starnes (Sr. Pastor), Tom Lewis (Facilities Team Manager) and Susan JimĂ©nez (Lay Leader). The Trustees generally meet on the 2nd Monday of the month. Please check the LIVE CHURCH CALENDAR to confirm the day and time.
The 2017-18 Class of Trustees for Epworth United Methodist Church…
Marti Garrett
Marti Garrett,
Chet Sprague,
Beth BozmanBeth Bozman,
Bunny Maher,
Evans Shearon
Evans Shearon,
Jim Blakeslee
Jim Blakeslee,
Bob Mitchell
Bob Mitchell
Penny MacLennan,
Rev Vicky Starnes,
Sr. Pastor – Staff
Non-Voting Member
Susan Jimenez
Lay Leader
Non-Voting Member
Tom Lewis
Facilities Team Manager
Reporting Member